The Ian "Inky” Millett Award is a perpetual award struck in memory of Ian for his contribution to the founding of Veterans Hockey in Queensland and Australia. The Ian "Inkey” Millett Award is presented annually to a member of the Queensland Mens Masters Association at the Australian Championships State Dinner. The nominee will have shown outstanding service to Hockey in all facets of the game from Juniors through to Masters. Ian 'Inky' Millett 1935-1987. Ian was a member of the Wests Hockey Club in Townsville.

In 1980 Ian Millett formed the Queensland Veterans Association which sent a team to a Veterans Carnival in Perth WA. Working with Peter Kennedy from WA Ian was a driving force in establishing the annual Australian Veterans National Championship.

Due Date - 21st September each year
  • Outline your nominee's achievements according to the criteria below and submit this nomination to the Secretary of QLD Mens Masters Hockey
  • The brief should give full details of the nominees playing/managing/coaching and admin service to hockey
  • Please note that this is a service award and not an achievement award

The Criteria for this award is as follows:

  • Playing details – (LEVEL) Club, District, State and if applicable Australia
  • Coaching and or manager details – Club, District, State and if applicable Australia
  • Administration details – Club, District, State and if applicable Australia
  • Other Hockey Awards or achievements received by nominee
  • The new recipient each year will be chosen by the previous winners
    • Past Recipients
      2003   CANBERRA  

      Bill Osborn (Townsville) - Dedicated service to Queensland Masters Hockey since 1981 as a player and selector. Outstanding support to Townsville Hockey Association and the Parks Club as a player and administrator over his playing career.

      Barry Mott (Sunshine Coast) - Outstanding service over his playing career to club, district, Queensland and Australian hockey as a player coach and selector in both grade and masters hockey.

      2004 LAUNCESTON Ross Ibell (Toowoomba) - For services to men's veterans hockey, particularly as a state selector, state and Australian player.
      2005 WOLLONGONG  Warren Flower (Sunshine Coast) - For services to masters hockey, particularly in administration at club, state, national and international levels.
      2006 PERTH Geoff Hollis (Gold Coast) - For services to men's veterans hockey, particularly in umpiring at state, national and international level.
      2007 GOLD COAST Barry Sheppard (Murwillumbah) - For services to hockey in general (overall), in particular coaching and administration at club and state levels.
      2008 DARWIN No award given
      2009 FOOTSCRAY / AlLTON (VIC)

      Alec Linning (Townsville) - For services to hockey in general, in particular as a player and in administration at club, state and national levels.


      No award given



      Steve Billingham (Gold Coast) - Services to Queensland Masters Hockey as committee secretary, and as player, team manager and to hockey in general.​

      Gil Voysey (Brisbane) - Services to Queensland Masters Hockey as a player, organiser, committee member and chairman, as well as hockey generally at club and city level.

      2012 HOBART

      Ross McLellan (Mackay & Gold Coast) - Services to Masters Hockey in Queensland as player, coach, selector, organiser, dinner MC and ethereal entertainer.

      Greg Morgan (Sunshine Coast) - Services to Masters Hockey at club, city, state, national and international levels particularly to Queensland Masters Hockey as player, and as coach of many successful over 40's teams.

      2013 SYDNEY No Award Given
      2014 PERTH No Award Given
      2015 CAIRNS Bob Rowley (Sunshine Coast) Service to Queensland Masters as a coach and player at state level, as a player at club level (and yes) as an umpire at club level at masters hockey.
      2016 ADELAIDE Paul Hardie (Ipswich) - Services to Qld Masters Hockey as Honorary Secretary, Team Manager and Medical Officer and for services to Hockey at all levels and in many capacities
      2017 HOBART

      Phil McLeod (Ipswich) - Services to QLD Masters Hockey as Treasurer, Uniform Coordinator, Selector, Team Manager, player, Sharkies designated driver & Ipswich Hockey.

      2018 LISMORE / BALLINA

      Ian "Ike" Warren (Maryborough) - Service to QLD Masters since 1991 as a player (and prolific goal scorer), Coach & Assistant Coach missing only 1 year. He represented Australian Masters teams as a player 7 times from 1998 to 2007 and has been part of the coaching staff with the Australian Over 35's for many years. He has been the Queensland Over 35's Assistant Coach since 2012. He has been both an Australian & QLD selector and our current Chairman of Selectors for a long time. At club & regional level he has dedicated 56 years to hockey both as a player and supporter of hockey. He is known to many of our current "younger" generation as as a man of few words...the Hockey Whisperer.

      2019  BUNBURY / BUSSELTON No Award Given
      2020 COVID-19 No Award Given
      2021 COVID-19 No Award Given 
      2022 Gold Coast Ray Langler as a player and adminstrator for Hockey Queensland Masters for 15 years. Ray has been instrumental in running teh Over 60s Carnival for a decade and has seen it grow from strength to strength.  
      2023 Perth Gary Smith

Files available for download


We Support